Binge

One of the biggest ~discoveries~ this year that actually has a hold in my life is the sleepless world of Korean dramas. The Halloween long weekend is just about to end and I spent the four days holed up in my room watching series. Surprisingly, it didn’t focus on Kdrama bingeing. I had to catch up first on The Walking Dead since the internet broke last week with Glenn Rhee’s death. And he’s Korean. Well, Korean-American. But still Korean. See the connection?

I’m not here to write about Glenn Rhee but let it be known that his death broke my heart into million pieces. So much so that I have no heart to watch the succeeding episodes. It’s like my The Walking Dead heart died when Glenn uttered these words as his last, “I will find you, Maggie.”

A moment of silence.

What I did binge this weekend is Kang Dong Won. The guy in the center.

It was said that Joo Won (right, the star of one of the best kdramas I’ve watched, Good Doctor) looks like him but personally, Jung Joon Young (left, a rockstar whose singing voice will blow your mind) looks more like KDW.

Image result for joon youngImage result for kang dong wonImage result for joo won

 

 

 

 

 

 

I first came across KDW while I was on a Joo Won stalking spree after I watched Good Doctor. Since it was said that the guy looks like Joo Won, I just had to check and my stalking led me to watching a bunch of Korean video clips in YouTube. There was a short film starring him and Song Hye Kyo entitled Love For Sale. It’s part of three short films collectively known as Camellia. The story is set in the future where romantic memories can be traded. Apparently, Song Hye Kyo sold her memories because she thought Kang Dong Won died. But he didn’t and so he’s tracking her down to preserve those memories. The premise is weird but I appreciate it. Reminds me of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind except that this is more violent.

But that’s not when I became a KDW fan. I just became a KDW fan this weekend when I watched A Violent Prosecutor. Followed by Kundo: Age of the Rampant. In the former, he was a protagonist. The story is very similar to Shawshank Redemption except it’s lighter in mood, with less dialogues, and more action. It’s not as put together as Shawshank Redemption but it’s good nonetheless. KDW was funny here. In Kundo, he was the antagonist, a psychopathic nobleman who lived and breathed greed. Both movies showcased his acting prowess and I became a fan. I also tried to watch The Priests since it’s Halloween but subs were bad so I had to pass on it until a later time.

Surprisingly, he’s not much of a kdrama star. He started in a kdrama in early 2000s but he’s more of a movie actor. In fact, he went here a few months ago to shoot a movie with Kim Woo Bin. Unfortunately, I wasn’t a KDW fan back then. If I were, I would have stalked him high and low. There were sightings of him in The Fort which is like a 5 minute drive from our home if traffic’s light. Ugh. Missed chance! Anyway, it’ll be released sometime next year. Will definitely catch it. Also, he’s included in the stalking list when my friends and I go to Korea next year. LOL.

That said, I plan to write about my top ten Korean actors which includes Yoo Ah In, Song Joong Ki, Kim Soo Hyun, Kang Ha Neul, Lee Joon Gi, Kang Dong Won. I’m still trying to figure out their ranks. Anyway, I still have tonight to watch another KDW movie. Should I go with My Palpitating Life (I know, what a weird title) or with Jeon Woo Chi: The Taoist Wizard?

None of the above. I’m watching Secret Reunion, instead.

Leave a comment